Dues bills mailed Nov. 30
The bills for the 2013 State Bar dues
were mailed to members Nov. 30; the deadline for payment is Feb. 1. The Legislature authorized a $410 fee for active lawyers. The fee includes $40 for
the Client Security Fund, $25 for disciplinary activities, $10 for the Lawyer
Assistance Program, $10 for a building fund and $10 for technology upgrades;
the remainder goes to the general fund.
Inactive members will owe $125, an
amount that includes $10 for both the Client Security Fund and the building
fund, $25 for discipline and $5 for the LAP as well as general fund money.
Annual membership fees are waived for inactive lawyers who are 70 years of age
on Feb. 1.
Those lawyers whose last names start
with A-to-G (Group 1) also have a Feb. 1 due date to report completion of their
25 hours of Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE).
Failure to pay dues by the deadline will
trigger a $100 late payment penalty for active lawyers and a $30 penalty for
Lawyers also will have the opportunity
to donate to the Justice Gap Fund (recommended
donation $100), the California
Bar Foundation ($50
recommended donation), the Conference of
California Bar Associations (CCBA — $35 recommended donation) and
Supreme Court Historical Society (CSCHS — a $25 donation is
recommended). In addition, they can deduct $5 for lobbying, $5 for the
elimination of bias fund and another $20 — with an option to donate that amount
to legal services.
Active lawyers with qualifying income
levels are eligible for a 25-percent reduction in the membership fee. To
qualify, a lawyer must declare a total gross annual individual income from all
sources of less than $40,000 in 2012.
Dues can be paid and MCLE compliance can
be reported online by logging on to My State Bar